ClearlyFabulous


No Bah Humbug Here (Well, At Least Not Anymore)
12/31/2011, 7:00 PM
Filed under: Holiday

I am going to admit it.  I was feeling a little grouchy this year about Christmas.  Each year, we drop about two mortgage payments on Christmas gifts for our friends, family and of course, ourselves.  And I kept finding myself feeling super cheated when it was all over.  I know that you do not give in order to receive… BUT when you give thousands of dollars, you expect to get a FEW awesome things, you know?

So this year I was very open about all the things I wanted.  And I purposefully mostly posted affordable items for my friends and family to purchase.  That means that some things I really want, like a new chandelier, large hide rug, food processor and another pair of Louis Ghost Chairs didn’t even make the LIST – at least not the public list.

And I think my strategy was super effective.  Here is what I scored:

Olive Wedge Hunter Boots – to be stylishly dry in rainy Southern winter weather.  Thanks, Britt!

Benefit Cha Cha Tint (OMG I got two, I will exchange one for Clarisonic deep pore cleansing brush set)

YSL Touche Eclat in Light Peach – thank goodness, I JUST ran out five days before Christmas

Grey and Burgundy turtlenecks; Black pashmina – b/c I am the kinda girl who has them in every color except any neutral color.  Thanks, Amy. – not pictured

Z Gallerie Small Deer Heads – FINALLY!!!  For the dining room!

Z Gallerie Gelato Trays in Mango and Black – cuz I am quite the tray collector

Johnnie Walker Black 1.75L – courtesy of my fave Shabazz family

Nars Orgasm Blush – who knew I could love such a subtle cheek color?

???Amy Lotion and Body wash??? – I am certain she picked it purely for the packaging, which is super sexy!

Gucci Guilty Intense – I was planning to score it at the duty-free shops, but Jo’ie surprised me with it.

Laphroaig 10 Years Old Scotch – I scored THREE bottles of this for Christmas.  Am I a lush or what?

Hello Kitty Beverage Dispenser – for making signature cocktails at parties :)

Charter Club Red Rhinestone Jewelry Set – this is just the little pop I need with solid cocktail dresses

Bloomingdale’s Gift Card – nothing like the gift of shopping

Macy’s Gift Card – another gift of shopping.  My life rocks. :)

TLC Crazy Sexy Cool – because my husband knows I’ve never owned it though I love it.

So now, all those Christmas gifts I so carefully selected feel much less unrequited.  And I can honestly say that my people were very pleased with their gifts too.  Though my favorite Christmas memory came courtesy of Isis, my favorite 2.5 year old.  We presented her with her Harajuku Mini ensemble and she promptly asked to change into it.  Then she tried to steal the $50 bill that we got for our favorite college student, Najja.  That is MY kinda girl!

And as for our gift to ourselves, check THIS out:

Moderustic Fireplace Burner with Fire Glass – I can’t wait to install now that we’ve taken the tree down.  Oh yeah, remote bi%che$. ;)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So jealous that you got the Hello Kitty beverage maker. I was going to buy it but couldn’t justify the purchase. On my wish list is Jimmy Choo cologne. Perhaps I will get a blog or a Twitter account and get several followers. I am certain to get at least one gift set, right ;)

Comment by Marguerite

Oh, and I LOVE the mango trays and the Hunter Boots. Jimmy Choo perfume and boots will be rewards for achieving weight loss goals. woo hoo

Comment by Marguerite




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

