ClearlyFabulous


Obsessed… with Jessica Simpson?
08/22/2009, 2:33 PM
Filed under: My Shopping Finds

OK, so I began following blogs last year during the wedding planning process. I figured that my favorite blogs were probably the best way to discover new blogs. This search method led me to my absolute favorites… http://www.lovemaegan.com/ and http://www.iamstyle-ish.com/.

Maegan wore these fabulous nude patent leather shoes (and added fringe to them) – the Jessica Simpson Halli – in a post back in June.

Maegan in cute fuschia dress and the nude Jessica Simpson Halli sandal

Maegan in cute fuschia dress and the nude Jessica Simpson Halli sandal

And I have been coveting them ever since. For a few key reasons, I didn’t really even THINK about getting them…

1. OK, I think that Jessica Simpson is a gorgeous girl. AND I feel really bad about her sad luck in love. AND some of her shoes are FLY AS HELL! However, I feel strongly that I cannot support any celebrity shoe designers, e.g. JLo, Carlos Santana, etc. (except Gwen Stefani because I am just DYING for a pair of L.A.M.B. shoes, but the right ones have not found me during a sale – cuz yes, I am TOO CHEAP to buy ANYTHING full-priced… unless it’s at a discount store cuz I know they built the sale into the price.)

2. Beginning in June, I was “saving” all my shopping energy and funds for my August So Cal trip. So no summer shopping for me; I didn’t even buy a new swimsuit!!! Seriously, going to the grocery store had to provide me with my shopping fix. And that is REAL sad.

3. I HATE biting other people’s style; it is just wrong. So seeing some shoes on Maegan’s blog and then getting them seemed grimy (channeling Riley from the Boondocks in the “Invasion of the Katrinians” episode.)

Cousin Jericho and Robert Freeman in The Boondocks infamous episode, "Invasion of the Katrinians"

Cousin Jericho and Robert Freeman in The Boondocks infamous episode, "Invasion of the Katrinians"

4. They were on sale for $75, which I felt was too much to spend on shoes that would somehow support Jessica Simpson’s ability to buy Jimmy Choos or Manolos while I am rocking her sh%t.

5. The nude wouldn’t look right on me since I am a brown girl. I have too many black patent shoes (if this is possible.) The stone patent looked like a sad, sick light grey. OK it’s definitely not meant to be…

So, I returned from L.A. with WAY less shopping loot than I imagined and way more desire to buy the damn shoes. So I spend some time with Google, and what do I find for less than $50…

Jessica Simpson Halli sandal in black patent from endless.com

Jessica Simpson Halli sandal in black patent from endless.com

After a 25-email-exchange yesterday afternoon with Amy, we agreed that I should buy the shoes. She did warn me though, “…I have tried on [Jessica Simpson] shoes before and found everything I tried on to be uncomfortable. It’s like hammer toe and hot soles waiting to happen. So sad.”  I LOVE how descriptive she is…

THAT sounds frightful, but even after all of that – what did I do bright and early this morning? I ordered the LAST pair on www.endless.com.  They will be here on Monday, and I HOPE, HOPE, HOPE that they are worth the months of obsession. Because if you are really thinking about anything – even Jessica Simpson shoes – for two months, don’t you at least owe yourself an attempt??? If they don’t work out – isn’t that what return policies are for? At least I won’t have to wonder.

Will post pictures soon…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

