ClearlyFabulous


My Grown Woman Shoe Dilemma
10/22/2009, 3:39 PM
Filed under: My Shopping Finds

So this whole thing started back in May, the month of my 30th birthday.  After buying myself the Audi A4 convertible I’ve coveted since 2004, I also felt it would be appropriate to score some “grown woman” aka expensive as he%% shoes.  I was definitely leaning towards the Christian Louboutin Very Prive pump – THE classic Louboutin. 

very prive

Unfortunately, the only pair of Louboutins that didn’t hurt like he%% was a simple black patent pump.  And that just didn’t feel special enough for my 30th birthday grown woman shoes.  So I found some beautiful Valentino d’orsay heels in pewter with a huge bow on top:

Pewter Valentino Pump

And those beautiful shoes have sat in my closet for over five months…

Last Friday I sent this email to some of my trusted friends and advisors:

“OK, guys so here’s the deal.  It’s the middle of October.  My bday was May 3rd. And I still haven’t work the Valentino’s cuz they are pretty uncomfortable.  And I’ve found a spot on knock off (I feel better paying $100 for beautiful yet uncomfortable shoes even if they’re Paris Hilton – than $700 plus tax if they are not my for real gonna rock them shoes) at En-Ferno footwear.
 
I think that if I’m not gonna wear them, I can think of other things to do with almost $800 – get the black patent Louboutin pumps that were comfy but kinda plain or a great designer bag…  But I need some opinions and ASAP.  Cuz I thought about this last week and the size 8.5 of this shoe are rapidly disappearing…  Need your help!!!!!!!!!!  What do y’all think?”

I got lots of advice, and all roads led to take back to Valentinos.  So what to get instead?  Jamison and I took a trip back to Saks at Phipps Plaza to get those un-special black patent Louboutin pumps, but they weren’t there!  OMG…  We visited Jeffrey too and I was only in love with $2,000 thigh high boots – way out of budget!

So my current plan is to spend the $750 I’ll get back from the Valentino’s on all the things I wanted for fall:

  • Leopard print trench – still on the hunt…
  • Leopard print boots – leaning towards either of these in lieu of the pricey Louboutins I featured a couple Fridays ago…

Funkier…

N.Y.L.A. Marriah Platform Bootie

N.Y.L.A. Marriah Platform Bootie

 More classic…n-y-l-boot

  • Plaid pants – “searching…” (in Erykah Badu’s voice, damn I love the “Live” album)
  • Shrunken cardigan – I’m feeling like T.J. Maxx will have the answer
  • Black and grey leggings – Express all day long
  • Metallic jacket, pants or skirt – not sure where they’ll come from…
  • Long leather gloves – I’ve already got opera length in black and red courtesy of Amy, but I feel I need purple or green – am willing to try the ones at Chadwick’s

chadwicks gloves

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

