ClearlyFabulous


A Clueless Tragedy… R.I.P. Brittany Murphy
12/20/2009, 11:43 PM
Filed under: Random

I am sure that most of you know by now that Brittany Murphy passed away this morning from full cardiac arrest.  This has SO deeply saddened me – because I graduated from high school in 1997, which means that I am of the Clueless era.   

My best friend at the University of Pittsburgh was a lovely girl named Sheriden, who just so happened to be from Beverly Hills.  I, born in Nebraska with my formative years spent in North Little Rock, AR, was blown away by an actual person from Beverly Hills.  An actual person from Beverly Hills who has NEVER seen the movie “Clueless.”  

Of course I felt it critical to immediately solve this little problem.  And nearly every night after that, she and I watched “Clueless” and giggled the night away (until my boyfriend got annoyed by it and we changed to every other day.)  

I still know every word of the movie.  Of course, I connected most to Cher, played my Alicia Silverstone back when she ate meat, cheese and butter and wore leather.  Perhaps the gorgeous Stacey Dash as Dionne would have been a more appropriate “role model” but I was in love with Cher… “Oops, my bad.”  [Pan to driving test scene in her “most responsible shirt.”]  Especially at how she wanted to make over Brittany Murphy as Tai, the new grungy girl in school.  (I was a sucker for a makeover in my younger days but still love acting as personal shopper to friends, family and total strangers.)  

 

 

 How these stars changed after this movie.  Alicia became overweight, then vegan.  Stacey Dash stayed exactly the same; I mean she literally looks exactly the same, which BTW, is gorgeous.  She was perhaps my FIRST girl crush in the movie, “Moving.”  Brittany Murphy went on to make a bizarre series of movies including the creepy “Don’t Say a Word” and playing Eminem’s crazy ex-wife Kim in his hip-hop life story.  Paul Rudd is the king of Judd Apatow films.  And Donald Faison is dating Jessica Simpson’s best friend/assistant CaCee Cobb. 

 

And now Brittany Murhpy is gone?  Seriously.  I have had enough of these stars keeling over on me this year – Michael, Heath (“10 Things I Hate About You” is another FAVE movie), DJ AM, Chris Henry (not that I knew who he was before he died last week) and now Brittany…   

I’ll tell you what – these tragedies should remind us all why we should live every single day to the fullest, because tomorrow might not really come…  I am vowing to take my ass back to the gym, eat less red meat, and my immediate action is to have a glass of red wine RIGHT NOW.  Let’s all take a moment to think of everything we are grateful for and to remember Brittany…  

  

Radiant in pink with bronzed skin

 

  

 

Being silly and enjoying life, just how I remember her best.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just don’t be a crackwhore and everything should turn out okay.

Comment by Jory

that is one of the RUDEST comments Ive seen

Comment by Harleen Quinzel




Leave a Reply

