ClearlyFabulous


My Phoenix Adventure with Rox
01/27/2010, 6:08 PM
Filed under: My Shopping Finds

OK, so I love shopping in Phoenix.  All for Last Chance, the greatest store ever because it’s where things go AFTER Nordstrom Rack.  So it’s really cheap prices but still with Nordstrom quality stuff.  We did an initial perusal on Friday after lunch.  (We ate at this great burger spot called delux, which is consistently rated among the best burgers and beer in Phoenix.) 

Friday did not result much Last Chance luck – now this MAY be because it was really crowded and I HATE crowds – but all I got was a few headbands and some bras.  Note:  Last Chance is one of the only stores you can regularly buy large cup size bras for an everyday low price of $5.97.  We already knew we’d return another day, so this was just to check the place out. 

Friday evening was a barrel of laughs at Rox’s local Applebee’s.  While we arrived around 8:30 PM, it was obvious that everyone else at the bar had been there since happy hour began.  There were the two really drunk guys, the girl with a bad weave basically BEGGING this guy to take her home, and an interesting non-couple of a boob revealing girl and her very butch non-GF.  And it was all wildly amusing until said bad weaved girl decided to STARE into the side of my face for five LONG minutes (she realized that her guy was not going to work out) before saying to the non-couple, “I really like your chemistry…” 

I would have loved to be a fly on the wall the next morning but Rox and I decided to pursue greener pastures, a.k.a. leave immediately, do not pass go do not collect $200, buy a case of Bud Light, 2 Tombstone pizzas, a bag of chips and some Fruit Roll-ups before hurrying back home where normal people and the adorable Wrigley live…

On Saturday, we headed to the new H&M in Scottsdale.  I got a black and white puffy sleeved striped tee, white and navy striped tank dress, and black vest. 

“Yacht” tank dress

Striped puffy sleeve top – looks WAY better on a body but I was just too lazy to do all that last night… promise to photograph it soon in “What I’m Rocking”

(My first black vest was a Goodwill find and I LOVED that thing.  I rocked it with everything…  Sadly, I lost it in a friendship divorce with my girl Selima.  So I’ve been seeking a replacement for over a year.  Sorry I was too lazy to photograph this – but I will soon!) 

On Sunday, after fulfilling a jonesing for pot roast (courtesy of a morning of Food Network watching) at a local diner, Rox and I headed back to Last Chance.  The Cowboys were playing, so Rox assumed the stores would be pretty empty.  (Apparently nearly half of Arizona folks are Cowboys fans b/c well, the Cards haven’t always been around.)  And she was right. 

We started off at the $1 t-shirt and tank top bins.  I managed to stalk a family for a shopping cart – carts are VERY rare so the only way you get one is to ask someone else for theirs when they leave.  I found some cat eye shades; tried on loads of shoes; scored some cool jackets; dug through the bra bins for 36H or 34I bras (yes you are reading those letters and numbers correctly) for my 19-year-old sister.   I even convinced Rox to get a few great items she otherwise would not have gotten…

This is what I got for less than $210:

Black peep toe boots with zipper detail for $25.99

 

Burgundy knee high pointed toe boots with ruching for $25.99 – sorry for the sketchy photo.  I was really lazy last night…

 

Purple pointed toe boots that “make love to your feet” (seriously, that is what the label says) for $18.99.  P.S. All boots were 35% off.  That is how they were so cheap.

 

Yellow vintage style sandals for $18.99

 

Black cat eye sunglasses (and a case for Jamison’s Ray Bans) for $2.97

Bronze Via Spiga trench coat (same style as my leopard print) for $19.97 – photographed in my library

Funky green Member’s Only nylon bomber jacket for $19.97

Gold linen Michael Michael Kors jacket for $34.97

Others… Spanx shorts for $7.97, Nordstrom playlist CD (good cocktail party music), Loads of bras – 36G (for me) and 36H (for Britt) at 35% off of $5.97 each

Talk about good shopping karma.  And the line wasn’t even too long.  After that, we drove down to Tucson to visit my Ganny, Aunt, Uncle and Cousin Mike.  My Ganny and I had a long conversation regarding her amazing and giant collection of vintage jewels and furs and that I should get them b/c I am the only one that would use them.  (Likely to cause a stir in my family…)  Ganny forced Rox to try on two of her wigs, leading us to all agree that Rox really ought to go blonde!!!  (I was about 19 before I realized that my Ganny’s natural hair color was not honey blonde.)

It was great to hang with my friend and do a little shopping – all in 70 degree weather!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Give me the hook up on bras!! lol…I love the Michael Kors Jacket!! I have a blue one like it!!

Comment by Jamilla

Hey girl,

I will let you know before I go next time so I can get your bra size and hook you up! We know how much those can set us back.

Dying to wear the gold jacket. Almost wore it today, but I’m sick and could not pretend to be as fab as I ought to be to rock that one!

Comment by clearlyfabulous

Is Jae Scott gonna let you out the house wearing that tank dress? LOL. You got some good finds. The yellow shoes are dope. I can totally see you rocking them all summer. Hope you get to feeling better.

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

