ClearlyFabulous


Best of Spring (Inspired by Bazaar)
02/12/2010, 1:42 PM
Filed under: Fashion Shows

Nautical – this is one of the key elements of my personal style, so I am psyched that this is on trend for spring.  This means stock up time for me.  There are great pieces at Tory Burch:  both a striped blazer and sweater caught my eye.  And I’ll bet Gap and Old Navy have great tops for less too!  I can finally bring out a “rad” white and navy sequin striped sweater I’ve been “saving” for a special occasion… but what am I saving it for?

Sequins – thank goodness this trend continues into spring:  it’s another classic “Michelle style” wardrobe builder.  Sequins are seen as fresh now – not stuffy – so feel free to wear them as early in the day as you see fit.  Just don’t wear too many at one time or you’ll look out of place.  I have sequin vests, leggings, skirts, tops, jackets and cardigans.  Time to go “shopping in my closet.”  (BTW, if you haven’t gone shopping in your closet recently you are missing out.  Surely you have some gems you have completely forgotten that deserve a spin on the town.  I am personally guilty of “saving” things but never wearing them while doing repeats of the same old items over and over and over again.  We must stop this dangerous trend.  Why do we shop if we’re only going to wear the same 2 pairs of jeans and 5 tops?)

 

A great shot from Lanvin spring 2010.

Blush – not my favorite cosmetic product (next to Rose Salve) but the perfectly, ever-so-slightly there neutral pink.  I am DYING for a vintage style blouse to wear with a pencil skirt and great platforms.  Or a breezy cocktail dress for a spring or summer wedding…  It’ll look great both before and after tan!!! 

A great top from Marc by Marc Jacobs on bluefly right now!

Max and Cleo cocktail dress

Leopard Print and Polka Dots – so 1950s screen siren – reminds me of Sophia Lauren.  I am so all about both of these prints b/c prints just make me happy.  Life has to be more than just solids and stripes – the latter is already a core look, so why not expand into more fun prints?  These are great places to get started:

Wedge shoes – some of my first pairs of heels were wedges and I just think they are such a combination of rock star fab and gladiator brute strength.  I love that wedges will be big for spring – so I’ll definitely be shopping my closet and picking up a couple of pairs too.  Here are a few hot ones I’ve got my eyes on:

Elizabeth and James "Cal"

Dolce Vita "Pela"

Pencil skirts – I love the vintage sensibility of pencil skirts, how they show off a woman’s curves in such a classic way.  I am extremely happy that they are a big part of the recessionista focus on sophisticated, classic pieces that will last the test of time.  Here are a few great black pencil skirts at a high and low price point:

Bold shoulders – I am so glad to see the return of the bold shoulder.  The “puffy-sleeve” shoulder became popular in the summer of 2002 (also known as the summer of happy hour and shopping – one of the greatest times of my life.  I was in grad school in Pittsburgh, PA at the time and my best friend and I would do shopping on Walnut St. each afternoon, followed my happy hour drink specials.  The local Gap had wild sales; for example, I scored a puffy sleeve denim jacket for $14.99.)  And I have loved it ever since. 

The even bolder shoulder is big due to what I call “the Balmain effect” combined with the 80’s throwback to the Dynasty era.  I love vintage items, so I’ve got plenty of shoulder pads in my jackets.  But there is always room for more:

Rihanna’s made it part of her signature rock star look

A real life ABS-version from Dillard’s

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

