ClearlyFabulous


“Why Don’t You Love Me?”
05/24/2010, 7:56 PM
Filed under: Random

You may not know this about me, but I HEART music videos in a way that I cannot describe.  I’ve been hooked since I was six.  Seriously.  BUT since switching to DirecTV two years ago, I haven’t gotten to see videos on a  regular (ahem – daily) basis. 

I know youtube exists specifically for this purpose, but I’ve always loved the randomness of discovering a new song on my favorite channel, VH1 Soul – which DirecTV does NOT carry.  So, my homegrown solution is a throwback to my dad in the late 80’s…  Why not DVR music video shows?  So I’ve been recording centric hits as good background noise for working, cleaning, etc.

In another perfect display of cinematography, photography, costume design, set design, etc., Beyonce’s latest vid and song have me reeling.  (Surely it’s inspired by Gaga’s kick-ass videos.)  Dressed in vintage form-fitting lingerie, daisy dukes and smudged eyeliner and drinking one (or five) too many dirty martinis in her lush vintage pad, Beyonce plays a gorgeous albeit not-so-nice housewife in “Why Don’t You Love Me.”

To me, the lyrics are just as beautiful as the video’s images are… I mean what woman has NOT felt this way during or after a bad breakup:

Why don’t you love me?
Tell me, baby, why don’t you love me
When I make me so damn easy to love?

Why don’t you need me?
Tell me, baby, why don’t you need me
When I make me so damn easy to need?

There’s nothing not to love about me
No, no, there’s nothing not to love about me
I’m lovely

There’s nothing not to need about me
No, no, there’s nothing not to need about me
Maybe you’re just not the one
Or maybe you’re just plain……. DUMB

Lyrics courtesy of AZ Lyrics.  Check out the video on youtube.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

