ClearlyFabulous


My Shopping Victory: Boston Trip
06/18/2010, 10:00 PM
Filed under: My Shopping Victory

So after my “Sustainable LEAN Culture” class wrapped up on Wednesday evening, I headed to Back Bay for some shopping at Filene’s Basement.  I still could NOT believe the original Downtown Crossing location has been a giant hole in the ground for nearly 3 years, but I made due with the Boylston Street location.  And here is what I found:

 

Red portrait collar London Times dress – I scored this dress for only $29.99.  I love the Jackie O look, and ironically I have another dress that is fairly similar.

 

Purple cotton Barney’s Coop dress – I love the shape and color of this dress.  And the cotton is SO soft.  And everything in the Vault was 60% off.  So it was $11.99!!!

 

Black & grey cocktail dress – I love the fun quality of this $39.99 dress.  I mean, it literally made me dance in the dressing room.  What more can I say?  I look forward to having an opportunity to wear this for a great occasion.

 

Black & grey Liz Claiborne plaid pencil skirt – I love, love, love pencil skirts.  The vintage look, the sex appeal, the practicality… what more could I possibly want in a piece?  (A piece that was on clearance for less than $17!)  And this one is inspired by Jory’s favorite colors – black and grey 🙂

 

Gold & lucite necklace – It was so reminiscent of Prada and it was 75% off.  So there was no question whether I’d get it!

I exited Filene’s on Newbury St, so I headed to Marc Jacobs for a quick spin.  I did get a couple of things: an adorable grey Lil Lower lunch bag (I had to get a little present for Jamison) and red heart compact (to replace the gold one I bought in SoHo in 2007.)  I almost got this gold Marc by Marc Jacobs purse, but I decided to hold off on it:

At H&M there was a sale going on.  And everyone knows that H&M locations in “real” cities have better clothes than the random ones in shopping malls in the middle of America.  And my guess was correct.  I racked up!

 

Navy and white polka dot dress – I’d been spying this dress in Atlanta but there was only one size 4.  Hooray for me I was able to get it.  I kinda DIE for polka dots and this shape is very flattering for me.

 

Orange empire waist tank dress – I am trying to step up my pool cover collection.  (Amy has like 20!)  I just need a few simple things I can lounge in for summertime and this works just fine for me!

 

Striped black & white drapey top – I’ve been wanting it for a while, and it’s only $5 so I just got it.  It may be a pool cover or it was a cool tunic… who knows.

 

Black and white jersey striped skirt – You know how I love stripes, and this was an easy choice.  The fit is also very flattering, and it’s SUPER comfy!

 

White and navy striped bubble hem minidress – My love for all things nautical is well documented.  And this dress is so cute.  It can go casual or dressy – for less than $20.  I KNOW I’ll be wearing it soon, like maybe tomorrow!!!!!!! 

Metal bangles – I like the rock n’ roll Rihanna-esque quality of the set of bangles I got for $6 (not pictured.)

 

Yet another striped puffy-sleeve top – They are still $9.95, so I decided to get the navy & white striped top to go along with the rest of the wardrobe of colors.

And… after scoring all these lost cost goods for less than $220, I was exhausted; my feet hurt; and I was hungry.  I’d already tried to ask the guy at H&M about restaurants but he pointed me toward Asian (never my favorite) so I decided to let the universe guide me to a great spot – that was close.  And boy, did I score… 

I saw the restaurant Papa Razzi Trattoria from the street, and the menu sounded great.  Inside was dark & moody, and I took my place at the bar after my parcels were whisked away in the valet closet.  I enjoyed a delicious martini and veal scallopini with a side of gnocchi as well as some interesting conversations with the locals and the great bartenders Amy & Brian.

Boston was very, very good to me.  I should go back some time soon and take Jamison with me!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

