ClearlyFabulous


DIY: Kitchen Chair Re-Do
06/24/2010, 10:28 AM
Filed under: Interior Design

 So, I’ve had my kitchen table & chairs for almost 5 years.  And I know “they” say that microfiber is great at holding up against wear and tear but our cushions have been looking tired for a WHILE now. 

I came up with the idea of vinyl (wipe and go – hello) a few months ago.  Jamison and I ordered some swatches of ostrich and croc, and finally settled on shiny white croc vinyl.  So, then it was time to do my first full-on cushion reupholstery job:

1.  Remove the fabric and foam cushions

(see how dingy the fabric looked?)

 

(two yards each of high density foam and white croc vinyl)

2.  Prepare the foam and fabric

3.  Adhere the foam to the base of the chair

4. Staple the vinyl to the base of the chair

Voila!  My new fabulous kitchen chairs:

The lack of stretch in the vinyl meant that I had to fold creases at the edges, but I am totally OK with it.  I love the look of the shiny white croc although I’m still getting used to the feeling of it on my legs- sweaty thighs.  No bueno 😦

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

The chairs turned out nice. You did a great job.

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

