ClearlyFabulous


Sweltering in D.C. July Weekend
07/27/2010, 11:14 AM
Filed under: Travel

This past weekend in D.C. for Ben & Jory’s wedding was so awesome – except that it was really, really hot!  We stayed at the ultra posh Donovan House hotel (part of Thompson hotel group) at 14th and Thomas Circle.  The afternoon was spent lounging by the pool – in 100 degree plus weather.  The rooms had cool decor (yes, Jamison is DYING for an egg chair now) but the service was cool at best…

The wedding on Friday was so awesome.  We started the morning with photos, mimosas, and the most beautiful vows I’ve ever heard while shaded by awesome parasols and cooled by paper fans.  (Jory’s mom, Lisa, was the genius behind those gadgets.)  We had a great lunch at AGAINN gastropub at 11th and New York Avenue.  Shout out to the pastry chef for making the tastiest version of yellow cake with chocolate frosting I’ve ever had!

We spent Saturday morning at a farewell breakfast with Ben, Jory, Frank and Jory’s family.  I resigned my desire for cosi and agreed to go to au bon pain so Jory could have his favorite salmon wasabi bagel before leaving for Hong Kong.  Then I headed to the newly opened Forever 21 on 11th and the H&M close by where I scored a black bow belt inspired by a similar one from Jennine of  The Coveted.  I am sure I’ll be wearing it with everything.  Kinda wishing I’d gotten the red one too… I hate when I make a mistake when shopping.  I’ll have to check out the H&M near work soon.  Of course, I already checked out the one at the Annapolis mall after an unsuccessful Nordstrom Anniversary sale shopping trip.

We had oyster shooters and the world-famous crab dip at O’Brien’s – my first time since I initially had it with Rox back in 2002.  And the crab dip was the most delicious thing in the world!

This $300K radiant cut yellow diamond (seen below on my friend Marguerite’s hand) Gregg Ruth ring I’ve been dying for since seeing it last January… I found a beautiful yet almost affordable downsized version for only $32K at Zachary’s Jewelers at 100 Main Street in Annapolis.  The radiant cut is the sickest thing you’ve ever seen – it sparkles wildly even in the DARK!  I’ve got to set up a Gregg Ruth savings fund immediately.  And all of you in the DC metro area should go check the place out.

After spying the heartbreaking $300K yellow diamond, we headed to the car.  Jamison and Marguerite were distracted by a wonderful little ice cream shop and then we headed down to the pier.

Wishing I had a yacht and that Gregg Ruth diamond as we speak…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

