ClearlyFabulous


Girl Crush Wednesday: Sheila E.
08/25/2010, 10:43 AM
Filed under: Girl Crush Wednesday

I’ve been in love with Sheila E. since I was six years old.  “The Glamorous Life” was the soundtrack of my life for nearly a year – broadcast on my red boombox.  (What a great Christmas I had that year!  Too bad thieves stole not only my new television – amazing to have my own TV in my own room – and my Strawberry Shortcake piggy bank that was full of $50 and $100 bills.  Crack really jacked up the black community when folks are stealing little girls’ savings.)

Sheila was so exotically beautiful (Latina, Black, etc.) and had such over-the-top personal style.  She loved rhinestones, furs, metallics – ahem, all of my favorite things.  And boy, is she a great drummer!  She is so talented and makes song a little better.  Her performance on TI’s “Bring ‘Em Out” made me LOVE that song even more.

Prince sure had good taste back when he spotted her performing in the late 70’s.  Sheila E. truly is a gem!  And one of my idols.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

who doesn’t love Sheila E? What’s not to love…I remember listening to her growing up both givin it up on the drums then on vocals Glamourous Life.

Comment by Marguerite




Leave a Reply

