ClearlyFabulous


Girl Crush Wednesday: Jill Scott
10/27/2010, 10:56 AM
Filed under: Girl Crush Wednesday

Since Jamison and I switched back to Comcast to save nearly $1K per year on phone, internet and cable (still hoping we don’t regret our decision,) my new favorite thing to do each morning on the weekends is watch VH1 Soul.  Watching an old Jill Scott video, this morning – “The Fact Is (I Need You)” made me remember just how much I love her for saying exactly what I try to lovingly tell my husband all the time; I don’t think my message is coming across appropriately, but hers is spot-on:

I can pay my own light bill baby
Pump my own gas in my own car
I can buy my own shoe collection
I’ve been blessed thus far
I can kill the spider above my bed
Although it’s hard because I’m scared
I can even stain and polyurethane
But some things just don’t change
I need you yeah
Sometimes so hard to say oh
I need you…

And even though I can do all these things
I need you
And even though I can do all these things
We need you
We need you
We need you
And even though I can do all these things by my damn self
I need you
I do, I do, I do, I do
And even though I can do all these things
I need you
We need you
We do
We need you yeah
We need you

I remember when I first heard Jill singing, “Do you remember me…” back in 2000.  I was instantly smitten by her real-girl-from-Philly, no-nonsense, yet soulful approach to R&B – yes, we did call it neo-soul back then LOL.  Jill’s songs have been key to the soundtrack of my life.  At least 8 months out of the year, one of her CDs is in my 6 disc changer in the car.  I love that I’ve also watched her grow into a talented actress and a loving mother to her son Jett.

Source:  Cleve Scene

Source:  Babbler

Source:  Soul UK

Source:  uu Lyrics

Source:  Last.fm

Source:  Soul Bounce

So, I am very proud to feature one of my favorite soul singers as this week’s girl crush.  Her natural beauty is so stunning, and she really seems like the kind of girl I might want to eat a cheesesteak and drink a beer with one day…  Of course, she doesn’t seem like a red-meat-eating, beer drinking kind of girl… but I can dream, can’t I?  We could also enjoy some sushi and sake together if she prefers that.  Jill – have your people call your my people (that’s just me right now) so we can set something up. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

