ClearlyFabulous


La Vie en Rose: Off to Paris
09/13/2011, 11:46 PM
Filed under: Travel

Sorry for being so off the grid lately, but things have been CRAZY at work!  Anyway, enough of the lame apology.  Immediately on to more awesome things…

How much more appropriate a statement can I make than la vie en rose (live life in pink) – courtesy of a very famous French song, to let you all know that I am heading to The City of Lights this January?

That’s right.  I am headed to Paris.  In January.  (Unfortunate winter timing I know, but I am game.)  For my friend Rox’s 40th birthday.  How exciting!!! 

Did I mention this is during the famous Paris winter sales?  So you already know ONE thing I am dying to do while there, but there are a few things I plan to squeeze into the five-day vacation:

  1. Touristy stuff:  Eiffel Tower, Louvre, Boat ride along the Seine
  2. The food:  The marches (markets), patisseries, boulangeries, fromageries, all the “eries”…
  3. The wine!!! [Cuz I am a lush especially for the good stuff 😉 ]
  4. Vintage shopping:  Maybe I can score some good stuff, this is TRULY a dream of mine for years.
  5. Flea market shopping:  Some awesome old stuff for the house?
  6. Jazz club:  Maybe this is the perfect place to treat Rox for her birthday, on a Friday night.  I read up about a cool one called Les Caveau des Oubliettes that sounds promising…
  7. Cafe/bistro culture:  I picture us lounging, reading fashion mags and novels, watching Parisian life go by (while drinking wine and eating baguette of course)
  8. Regular store shopping:  I mean there are only sales in paris TWICE a year 😉

So, I need your help.  Any advice of your favorite things to do, places to go, restaurants to eat, boutiques to shop, hotels to stay, etc. while in Paris?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

