ClearlyFabulous


When Taking Organic Foods Goes Truly Budget Busting…
09/30/2011, 12:09 AM
Filed under: Culinary Delights

I take my health seriously, at least when I’m not eating thin crust pepperoni pizza and eating gummi bears after a night of drinking too much.  But how seriously (and costly) should I take my health?

Today at lunch I headed to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s to pick up some healthy, organic eats:  whole wheat pastry flour (for the best whole wheat pumpkin muffins ever), pumpkin butter (my fave brand McCutcheon’s), pearl barley, quinoa, natural peanut butter, everything crackers, multigrain savory thins… and ahem, a few (well, four to be exact) bottles of wine.

Jory and I walked about the Whole Foods store, searching for the above mentioned whole wheat pastry flour in every single corner until we asked for help.  I was AMAZED by how expensive things were – raw organic peanut butter for $21.99 a jar?  Yogi brand ginger tea for $4.99?  (I bought the exact same stuff at TJ’s for $2.99.)  I could go on and on and on…

So, after I spent $13 for barley, quinoa, pumpkin butter and whole wheat pasty flour, I noticed an advertisement for personal shopping curbside service.  Seriously?  It isn’t already bad enough that you are spending $3.99 per lb for heirloom tomatoes and $6.99 per lb for chicken sausage, but you also want to spend some EXTRA fee for personal shopping with curbside pickup?

I make a decent chunk of change, but I cannot IMAGINE spending $250 on groceries for a week and a half AND being too lazy to walk around the (expensive ass bourgeoisie) store to buy said $250 groceries so instead spending MORE money…  I am confused at best.  At the very least, I am positive that I will NEVER make enough money to buy all my groceries at Whole Foods and get them curbside delivered to my convertible Audi. I mean, how else can I afford all that premium gasoline? 😉

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

