ClearlyFabulous


Sorry for the Disappearing Act
04/23/2012, 9:33 PM
Filed under: Random

As you guys know, writing clearlyfabulous is something I have done and enjoyed for about 2.5 years now.  I found myself in quite a funk beginning a couple of months back.  One of the many things I stopped focusing on during this time was writing clearlyfabulous.

I tried everything I could to get back in the swing of things, but I am still struggling a bit.  I lost my way as it relates to food, exercise, shopping, cocktails.  I tried every way possible to medicate myself against the depression and anxiety I found myself swirling in.  I have decided to take a more proactive approach going forward:

  • Re-focus on diet and exercise – not only have I gained about 10 pounds over my comfortable fluctuation range but I have been recently diagnosed with high cholesterol and high blood pressure.  This means I am going to be taking some very aggressive measures in the way of diet and exercise.  I now take 4 prescription meds each morning and it’s a bit too much for me to handle.  Yes, I am taking my meds, but I do NOT like it.  So I am going to do whatever it takes to get off of them.  I am beginning the Mediterranean Diet, which will be tricky for me due to my natural beef-loving Nebraskan self.  But I brainstormed ideas yesterday.  I will exercise 4-6 times per week, with an increased focus on resistance training.
  • Stay out of debt – By not writing, you guys missed out on a major milestone back in March.  I paid off all of my credit card debt.  Finally.  Now I need to stay out of debt.  I am trying to figure out which cards to cancel without hurting my credit score.  I am also trying to maximize reward points while only spending cash on essential items.
  • Focus on investing and saving – Now that I have learned to live on less and shop way less, I want to refocus my efforts on stocking my emergency fund and investing more in my 401K and IRA.  I also want to open a Roth IRA too.
  • Continue my focus on finding pleasure in ways other than acquiring things – This does not mean I will never shop, but it means my joy will not come from shopping and I will continue to focus on keeping my wardrobe and home decor lean.
  • Begin therapy to get to the bottom of the anxiety and depression – I have a sneaking suspicion that my recent health woes are connected to these issues as well.  I need to deal with some unresolved issues, move on, forgive.  I was at a conference earlier this month.  The keynote speaker presented this one slide that read:  “The happiest people are those who give.  The happiest people are those who forgive.  The least happy people are those who hold grudges.”  I was so inspired by this – I need to learn to forgive and deal with issues, rather than placing my skeletons in the closet.  I suspect I am beginning to run out of room.  I need to actively deal with my father’s death last year.  I have to free myself from all the things that are holding me back from happiness.

I also owe you guys a giant blog post featuring all the things I’ve bought in the last two or so months.  And a post on the wonderful gifts I’ve gotten for my upcoming birthday (one and a half weeks).  I will also start re-focusing  on my regular Wednesday and Friday posts along with featuring some “What I’m Rocking” posts too.  I may also share any particularly delish plant-based meals I create.

Thanks for sticking with me.  I can’t wait to be back to my old self.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You have accomplished so much in this year and have everything to be proud about. Good job coming back to your outlet! Keep it up!

Comment by K




Leave a Reply

